About Us

When township government began: The voters in Winnebago County elected to adopt the township form of government in 1849, and township government became effective the first Monday in April 1850; hence, the logo on our site. 

There were originally 16 townships in Winnebago County, but two of them, New Milford and Guilford Townships, annexed into Rockford Township in 1916 and 1929, respectively.

Population and size: The City of Rockford is the third largest city in Illinois, with a population of 152,871. Based on the 2010 census, Rockford Township has a population of 178,527, which represents more than 60% of Winnebago County’s 295,266 residents.

Rockford Township is the largest of Winnebago County’s 14 townships and the largest in the State of Illinois.

Number of parcels: The Rockford Township Assessor values more than 73,000 (60%) of the county’s 120,000-plus taxable parcels.

Assessed property values in Rockford Township total more than $2.3 billion and, by statute, this number represents 1/3 of the fair market value of the real property within our township... an estimated $6.9 billion.

Office staff: A professional, well-trained and dedicated team of deputy assessors, clerks, and support personnel form our team. Our staff is here to answer your questions, help find the information you need, and to assist you in all ways that we can.

Our 10 Deputy Assessors have earned the professional designation of Certified Illinois Assessment Official (CIAO) from the Illinois Property Assessment Institute.

What to expect: We are committed to producing accurate and equitable assessments and to provide the best in customer service to you, the taxpayer.


Rockford Township Assessors

Ken Crowley 2006 -
Ray Hodges 1994 - 2005
Gerry Simonds 1974 - 1993
Walter Olson 1966 - 1973
Keith Hankins 1958 - 1965
Wayne Norton 1950 - 1957
J. August Swenson 1938 - 1949
Gus Brown 1934 - 1937
Lawrence Pearson 1926 - 1933
Frank Hall 1922 - 1925
Lawrence Pearson 1918 - 1921
Harry Marean 1908 - 1917
Frank Puffer 1894 - 1907